Our Team


Maurice Elias, PH.D.

Professor of Psychology, Rutgers; Director, Rutgers Social-Emotional and Character Development Lab; Co-Director, Collaborative Center for Community-Based Research and Service; Co-Director, Academy for SEL in Schools

He is Past President of the Society for Community Research and Action/Division of Community Psychology (27) of APA and has received the SCRA Distinguished Contribution to Practice and Ethnic Minority Mentoring Awards, as well as APA’s National Psychological Consultants to Management Award, the Joseph E. Zins Memorial Senior Scholar Award for Social-Emotional Learning from the Collaborative for Academic, Social, and Emotional Learning (CASEL), the John P. McGovern Medal from the American School Health Association, and the Sanford McDonnell Award for Lifetime Achievement in Character Education.

Dr. Elias lectures nationally and internationally to educators and parents about students’ emotional intelligence, school success, and social-emotional and character development. Dr. Elias writes a blog for the George Lucas Educational Foundation’s Edutopia Website. For a list of selected publications, please click here.

Senior Research Associates

  • Gwyne White

  • Cesalie Stepney

Consulting Field Experts

  • Brian Eichert

  • Nina Franza

  • Erica Pawlo

  • Ava Lorenzo

Research Coordinator 

  • Sara Taylor

Current Lab Graduate Students

  • Danielle Hatchimonji- SECD Lab Associate Director (On Internship Leave)

  • Arielle Linsky- SECD Lab Associate Director

  • Samuel Nayman- STAT Project Director

  • Angela Wang- SECD Lab Project Director, Youth Mental Health and Leadership

  • May Yuan- SECD Lab Project Director, Youth Social-Emotional and Purpose Development

  • Emily Morgan

  • Dina Siegle

  • Kellie McClain- MOSAIC Curriculum Consultant

  • Crystal Molyneaux

Research Assistants

  • Lab:

    • Aditi Poddar

    • Aishwarya Ganguli

    • Ava Rooney

    • Bushra Hasan

    • Christian Rodriguez (undergrad coordinator)

    • Chandni Patel

    • Gillian (Shanyun) Zheng

    • Julia Finan

    • Maria Xu

    • Marissa Schwartz

  • Field:

    • Alison Tu

    • Belle Scherer

    • Chandra Shanmugavel

    • Emily Wollenberg

    • Jessica Krass

Academy for Social- Emotional Learning In Schools

  • Co-Director

    • Patricia Heindel

  • Administrative Director, Curriculum Designer and Coordinator for Instruction Certificate

    • Victoria Poedubicky

  • Key Local Faculty

    • Erin Bruno

    • Lauren Fullmer

    • Lauren Hyman Kaplan

    • Joanne MacLennan

    • Scott Taylor

    • William Trusheim

  • International Coordinator

    • Edward Dunkelblau

  • Collaborating Partner

    • Amy Moritz, Center for the Promotion of SEL

Dr. Elias with 2015-2016 Graduate Students, Lab Coordinators, and Research Assistants

Dr. Elias with 2015-2016 Graduate Students, Lab Coordinators, and Research Assistants